FAQ  Search  Profile  Log in to check your private messagesLog in   Register
Author Message
<  Full Screen
Cobra
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:57 pm  Reply with quote



Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 310
Location: Australia

Is it possible for when the game is set to 640x480 for it to fill the screen? I'm not sure what makes some games stretch to fill a wide screen and what doesn't allow others to do so, so I don't know if it is at all possible. I just don't like black borders (in games, movies, or TV) so thought I would ask.
_________________
http://CobraBlade.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mixel
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:12 am  Reply with quote



Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 932
Location: Leeds, UK

You can set up a list of resolutions for any game.

In Interface/Additional properties/edit default preferences - then click edit next to "screen size"

Tick the box for "screen scales to fit display" - this could give you irregular (non-square) pixels though, which might look a bit bad. you can try setting up a profile for every monitor type. Personally I chose black borders over unsquare pixels as they really munge the look of the game, hehe.

A problem comes with different screen shapes. Traditional scrollers always stuck in one resolution, and were designed with that in mind. If you add widescreen support you're potenially going to have to cut the top off your non-widescreen layout - not necessarily a problem though, depends on your game. In mine if became a serious annoyance as I designed certain things to be at the top of the screen and then they got cropped off by widescreen modes.

Next time I'm going widescreen only. Smile
_________________
Need tech help with ZH-pgf version? Post here. | Creeping Me Out!(webcomic)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Cobra
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:35 am  Reply with quote



Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 310
Location: Australia

Thanks for that.
I set the resolution for wide screen and it did the trick. That was easy Smile
But how many people have non-wide screen Macs? It would be better to have borders than people having some of the screen missing.

I also noticed it has no effect on the title screen.
_________________
http://CobraBlade.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mixel
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:32 pm  Reply with quote



Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 932
Location: Leeds, UK

Yeah all Macs have had widescreen for a while, i definitely prefer cinematic letterbox style borders to black at the left and right. A lot of people might still use 4:3 monitors on macpros or minis though, not sure. I'm stickignng with widescreen only for now.

The title screen can be made in a widescreen size, you just have to have a widescreen picture. Smile
_________________
Need tech help with ZH-pgf version? Post here. | Creeping Me Out!(webcomic)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Cobra
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:56 pm  Reply with quote



Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 310
Location: Australia

D'oh! That was silly of me, I better resize the pic. Thanks for pointing that out.
You've been a big help.
_________________
http://CobraBlade.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 1
sawbladesoftware.com Forum Index -> Suggestions

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group